Our Delivery

A locality is described as a small area within the borders of the Health and Social Care Partnership. Our four localities are defined by geography, the people that live, work, learn and play in the area, the characteristics of the population and, to some extent, by existing resources such as the location of health centres, schools, libraries and green space.

We recognise that within our localities there is considerable variation in the make-up of the population.  Our locality profiles look to describe the population and area of each locality. It is hoped that it will help inform and form conversations with people living and working in the area to describe the resources and capacities that need to be in the locality plan that have a positive impact on health and wellbeing and the protective factors that help people and communities maintain and enhance their health even when faced with adversity.

Aberdeen Health and Social Care Partnership is responsible for the delivery of health and social care services across Aberdeen.  This includes primary care, community based health services, and adult social care.

We are at the early stages of developing our localities where we will begin to align our health and social care services and functions to locality areas where that is appropriate to do so. Recognising that for some services they will continue to be delivered on a city-wide basis.  This will be supported by an integrated Locality Management Team.

The development of more integrated health and social care services is a legislative requirement in Scotland.  The Locality Management Team will be working with the Locality Leadership Groups (LLGs) and all stakeholders to integrate our local health and social care services and to test out new ways of working.

Each of our areas are unique and face different challenges, please visit the locality pages from the drop down menu above.

North Locality

The North Locality is made up of several defined neighbourhood areas including Dyce, Bucksburn, Danestone, Bridge of Don and Seaton.

Central Locality

Central Locality has the largest population of the four localities in the Health and Social Care Partnership at 82,000 (36%). It is mainly urban yet retains multiple areas of green space including local allotments, Northfield and Hilton outdoor sports centres, Victoria Park and Westburn Park and tennis courts.

South Locality

South Locality covers the areas of Kincorth and Cove, Altens, Nigg, Leggart, Ferryhill, Rutheriston, Torry, and Garthdee as well as the south of Aberdeen city centre.

West Locality

West Locality covers the suburbs of Kingswells, Hazlehead, Lower Deeside (Peterculter, Cults, Milltimber, and Bieldside), Braeside and Mannofield, as well as the West End of Aberdeen City Centre (Queens Cross, Craigiebuckler and Seafield).

Localities Map